Code Facts

Here are some code facts:



The International Code Council (ICC) is a member based organization which was first established in 1994. Prior to 1994, there were three separate and distinct code organizations in the United States, all with strong ties to geographical regions throughout the country. Those three organizations included;

• Building Officials and Code Administrators International, Inc. (BOCA)

• International Conference of Building Officials (ICBO)

• Southern Building Code Congress International, Inc. (SBCCI)



The ICC develops the following 15 codes;

• International Building Code (IBC)

• International Residential Code (IRC)

• International Property Maintenance Code (IPMC)

• International Energy Conservation Code (IECC)

• International Existing Building Code (IEBC)

• International Fire Code (IFC)

• International Fuel Gas Code (IFGC)

• International Green Construction Code (IGCC)

• International Mechanical Code (IMC)

• International Plumbing Code (IPC)

• International Private Sewage Disposal Code (IPSDC)

• International Swimming Pool an Spa Code (ISPSC)

• International Wildland and Urban Interface Code (IWUC)

• International Zoning Code (IZC)

• ICC Performance Code



States with jurisdictions using the codes;

• IBC – 50 States, District of Columbia, NYC, U.S. Virgin Islands, Guam, and the Northern Marianas Islands.

• IRC – 49 States, District of Columbia, U.S. Virgin Islands

• IFC – 43 States, District of Columbia, NYC, Guam, and Puerto Rico

• IECC – 46 States, District of Columbia, NYC, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

• IPC – 34 States, District of Columbia, NYC, Guam, and Puerto Rico.

• IMC – 46 States, District of Columbia, NYC, Guam, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands

• IFGC- 42 States, District of Columbia, NYC, Guam, and Puerto Rico


Other Users:

• Architect of the Capital

• General Service Administration

• National Park Service

• Department of State

• U.S. Forest Service

• Veterans Administration

• Department of Defense


Code Cycle:

The building codes are updated on a three year cycle. The most recent cycle years are;

• 2000

• 2003

• 2006

• 2009

• 2012


While the ICC updates the codes every three years, many states and local jurisdictions will skip or delay adoption of a code edition. Check with your local jurisdiction to see what code edition is in effect in your area.


The Process:

Anyone may suggest changes to the codes. The ICC has a specific protocol that needs to be followed in order for a code to be changed, deleted or modified. Anyone can attend code hearings and make comments on code changes; however, only governmental ICC members may vote on proposed changes.


Building codes may also be modified by states, as well as local jurisdictions. For this reason, it is important to check with the local building department to verify what codes are in use.


For more information on building codes, check out the ICC’s web site.


* As of October 2012.


6,816 total views, 1 views today